Share

Fatal Accidents and Wrongful Death

To anyone who has recently lost a loved one, we express our sincerest sympathies and condolences. We know that there is little we can do to ease your grief and sense of loss.

What the Law Office of David A. Bolson  can do is help you recover fair compensation for your losses, which you are entitled to after a wrongful death. We help people manage compensation claims after any type of accident, including those covered by workers' compensation.

For personalized, friendly service from a lawyer with 30 years of experience handling wrongful death cases, please contact us online. Or, call 866-916-4844 to schedule a free consultation with attorney David A. Bolson.

Who Should Consider a Wrongful Death Claim?

Spouses, parents, immediate family members and legal dependents have the right to file wrongful death claims. The loss of your loved one is a tremendous emotional shock, and it is no one's first choice to file a lawsuit. However, it is important to consider the practical implications of your loss.

You may be facing serious financial hardships due to the loss of your loved one's support. Family members who don't directly contribute to your family's finances often have other financial impact, such as by providing child care or other household services. Finally, you have lost that person's care, companionship and love.

You should not have to simply accept what a fatal accident has cost you. If the accident was caused by another party's negligence or wrongdoing, you have a right to protect your financial future and that of your family.

How Much Are Workers' Compensation Wrongful Death Benefits in New Jersey?

If you lost your loved one in a work accident, in New Jersey, you have the right to seek wrongful death benefits. 70% of the deceased worker's wages can be paid to dependents, including the spouse and children living in the household. Other dependents will need to show the extent to which the deceased worker supported them. A workers' compensation judge will have the final say as to how much each claimant will receive.

Surviving spouses receive compensation for a "period of survivorship" or until he or she remarries. Other dependents are paid for 450 weeks or until they turn 18 — whichever comes later (full-time students receive benefits until age 23).

In addition to those benefits, surviving dependents also receive compensation for medical bills related to the fatal injury. You can also receive up to $3,500 for funeral and burial expenses.

Personal Service From an Attorney Who Cares

At our law firm, we genuinely care about every client — especially those suffering after a wrongful death. You will work directly with Attorney Bolson throughout your case. He will take time to get to know you and listen to what you have to say.

As a legal team, we are committed to making ourselves available to you so we can address your concerns, answer your questions, and help you whenever you need it. For a free consultation, call 866-916-4844 or contact us online.


The Law Office of David A. Bolson is located in South Orange, NJ and serves clients throughout North Jersey in all of Essex County, Union County and Hudson County and communities such as East Orange, West Orange, South Orange, Newark, Irvington, Springfield, Union, Elizabeth, Maplewood, Bloomfield, Roselle and Roselle Park. ¡Hablamos Español!

What do I do?What should I do?Free Consultation



© 2017 Law Office of David A. Bolson | Disclaimer
76 South Orange Avenue, Suite 205, South Orange, NJ 07079
| Phone: 973-762-1600 | 866-916-4844

Workers' Compensation | Personal Injury | Discrimination in the Workplace | Types of Injuries | Español | About Us

Law Firm Website Design by
Amicus Creative